UndergrounD GameR ForuM

General Category => Show Us Your System => Topic started by: Sammy on August 29, 2011, 06:24:35 PM

Title: SammyA's
Post by: Sammy on August 29, 2011, 06:24:35 PM
CPU Intel i7 920 OC'd @ 3.4GHz, 1.1 Core Voltage   
Motherboard Asus P6T   
Memory 6GB (3x2) 1600   
GPU Radeon HD5850 MSI
HDD Western Digital SATA 808GB
PSU Antec EarthWatts 750w   
Case Antec Nine Hundred
CPU cooling Noctua NH-C12P   
OS Windows 7 64-bit Pro   
Monitor LG Flatron W2261V - 21.5-Inch 1080p Full HD

Not in picture:
Mouse: Logitech MX 518

(http://i46.tinypic.com/xdxab5.jpg)

Back home being used as a come PC for dad and sister! Got loads of footage from my Panasonic HD Camcorder to throw at it. This thing is a beast. Two years old when I left and was playing new releases at max, not even breaking a sweat.

Title: Re: SammyA's
Post by: Sammy on August 29, 2011, 06:26:28 PM
Oh and my PS3 hooked up to the monitor via DVI. PC hooked up via HDMI.
Title: Re: SammyA's
Post by: Soulrogue on August 29, 2011, 06:31:31 PM
and you totally can't use it cause you're not in aus? >.<
Title: Re: SammyA's
Post by: BAND+AID on August 29, 2011, 06:33:49 PM
You must be gettin the shakes up now wouldn't you?  Been away a while now man, how long til you come back?
Title: Re: SammyA's
Post by: Sammy on August 29, 2011, 07:18:01 PM
seeing these PR:ARMA II tutorials were getting to me man lol... can't believe i am going to miss the release for it.. looks sooo good. all you guys got ARMA II: OA yet ?
Title: Re: SammyA's
Post by: FlatkinG on August 30, 2011, 01:33:09 AM
yeah got arma oa, ur desk is missing a couch :) its the perfect table for 1..
Title: Re: SammyA's
Post by: SCORP on August 30, 2011, 08:25:34 AM
Whats the BIG knob on the left?? :o
Title: Re: SammyA's
Post by: FlatkinG on August 30, 2011, 08:27:55 AM
thats Your chair scorp
Title: Re: SammyA's
Post by: Soulrogue on August 30, 2011, 11:27:04 AM
yeah most of us have OA ready to go, though i have a feeling the inital launch of OA:PR will need some ironing out. but should be great.
Title: Re: SammyA's
Post by: Sammy on August 31, 2011, 01:54:49 AM
that's my chair scorp lol. tiny room so would be pretty hard to squeeze a lounge in there flat =P
and yeah will be one of the first things i do when i come home. getting OA for a good price! going to be so funny stores getting all these sales of OA near the release of PR: ARMA II especially since ARMA III is on the way
Title: Re: SammyA's
Post by: Sammy on July 13, 2012, 12:03:27 PM
Just an update to my system. Only real thing I have changed is clock the CPU an extra 200MHz and bought a 2nd 5850 GPU to crossfire.

CPU Intel i7 920 OC'd @ 3.6GHz, 1.24 Core Voltage   
Motherboard Asus P6T   
Memory 6GB (3x2) 1600 (9x9x9x24)
GPU Radeon HD5850(x2) CF
HDD Western Digital SATA 808GB
PSU Antec EarthWatts 750w   
Case Antec Nine Hundgreen
CPU cooling Noctua NH-C12P   
OS Windows 7 64-bit Pro   
Monitor LG Flatron W2261V - 21.5-Inch 1080p Full HD
Mouse: Logitech MX 518

(http://i50.tinypic.com/10cnmzq.jpg)

Next upgrade will be selling the 2 5850's and most likely getting a NVIDIA GPU. Main reason for the switch is the more in-depth software package that comes with NVIDIA and basically just to try something new.
Title: Re: SammyA's
Post by: CanHasCoW on July 13, 2012, 08:11:24 PM
Your cable management makes me want to strangle you.
Title: Re: SammyA's
Post by: Soulrogue on July 14, 2012, 12:32:56 PM
Cable management isn't possible with a PSU at the bottom and SLI/Crossfire, cables barely make it to where they need to go.. atleast for me anyway.
Title: Re: SammyA's
Post by: SCORP on July 14, 2012, 02:54:46 PM
Yeah Sammy has the same gay case as me.

When you put the PSU on the bottom you have to mount fan up. Which makes the cables come out the wrong side.

The only supply that works with that case is the Antec supply's with the end mounted fans.
Title: Re: SammyA's
Post by: Nasty on July 14, 2012, 04:08:58 PM
Cable management isn't possible with a PSU at the bottom and SLI/Crossfire, cables barely make it to where they need to go.. atleast for me anyway.

You can get extenders for a lot of cables, which then makes it possible.

Pretty common to need one for your CPU power at the top of your motherboard these days. With an extension you can run it around the back of your case and back in at the top, that's what I did. With everything running around the back it looks nice and professional - and a spiderweb of nightmares behind the other case side :D
Title: Re: SammyA's
Post by: CanHasCoW on July 14, 2012, 06:18:52 PM
Ehh true, Didn't think about it. I forgot after the four hundred series antecs cabling was retarded.
Title: Re: SammyA's
Post by: Soulrogue on July 15, 2012, 12:27:29 PM
Yeah mines long enough to run up the right side of the case, but the other motherboard power thing.. the eight pin thing? i pretty much have to go right over the top of everything.
Title: Re: SammyA's
Post by: Sammy on October 23, 2013, 03:31:05 PM
I haven't done one of these in a while.

A bit of a change. I get Windows 8.1 for free for one of my classes so I decided to get the most out of it by finally purchasing an SSD drive. I settled for a SAMSUNG SSD 840 EVO 120GB for $116.

(http://www.thessdreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/Evo-Top-Right.jpg)

Link: http://www.samsung.com/global/business/semiconductor/minisite/SSD/uk/html/about/SSD840EVO.html

I'm also looking to upgrade my 5850 CF to a single 7950 which I'll be purchasing second hand from a mate. I can't wait to join the SSD game. Anyone here running Windows 8.1/8 ?
Title: Re: SammyA's
Post by: Soulrogue on October 24, 2013, 08:44:50 AM
8 with SSD
Title: Re: SammyA's
Post by: SCORP on October 24, 2013, 10:46:19 AM
I'm running Win8 on my work laptop. It's a pain in the ass untill I installed a program called classic shell. This give you a desktop back.

www.classicshell.net/
Title: Re: SammyA's
Post by: Soulrogue on October 24, 2013, 11:38:34 AM
^
Title: Re: SammyA's
Post by: Sammy on October 24, 2013, 02:56:27 PM
Yeah I've read about that. Also, these arrived in the mail today:

(http://www.derringers.com.au/product_images/c/135/hd558__93931_zoom.jpg)
Title: Re: SammyA's
Post by: SCORP on October 24, 2013, 04:24:58 PM
WHat happen to the AudioTechnica ones mate?
Title: Re: SammyA's
Post by: Sammy on October 24, 2013, 07:29:45 PM
You mean the Sennheiser 280's? The sound quality was amazing but they weren't that comfortable especially after wearing them for a long time. I sold them on eBay and bought the 558s. They sound just as good as the 280s but so much more comfortable.
Title: Re: SammyA's
Post by: Sammy on January 23, 2014, 05:31:48 PM
An updated ablum of my FreeTrack device.

(http://i.imgur.com/d023q3E.jpg)

(http://i.imgur.com/ZoBwpIH.jpg)

(http://i.imgur.com/WwlxjA4.jpg)

(http://i.imgur.com/bOQb09P.jpg)

(http://i.imgur.com/GPuLt9c.jpg)

(http://i.imgur.com/4vUGPlA.jpg)

(http://i.imgur.com/zQPgTIu.jpg)

(http://i.imgur.com/VsjoNfE.jpg)

(http://i.imgur.com/cUO5y0a.jpg)
Title: Re: SammyA's
Post by: SCORP on January 24, 2014, 08:58:18 AM
Need to tide that up mate & it'll look Boss.

Does the red LED interfere at all. I had to put black tape on some shiny bit on my headphones to stop the reflection from my 3 screens interfering.
Title: Re: SammyA's
Post by: Sammy on January 24, 2014, 09:58:43 AM
Nah man it doesn't show up. My camera only picks up the brightest of lights and the red LED is pretty dull.
Title: Re: SammyA's
Post by: Sammy on September 28, 2014, 06:41:00 PM
I built a new IR head tracking device with brighter and wider IR leds. I made a video showcasing the new device and testing it on 3 different games.

www.youtube.com/watch?v=HkupsSeM9es

(https://i.imgur.com/5Hzoe6D.jpg)

(https://i.imgur.com/W1OLjZU.jpg)

(https://i.imgur.com/mpiWG7g.jpg)

(https://i.imgur.com/6BlXC7m.jpg)
Title: Re: SammyA's
Post by: CanHasCoW on September 29, 2014, 08:57:25 AM
Nice sammy.
Title: Re: SammyA's
Post by: FlatkinG on September 30, 2014, 12:51:33 AM
whats the ir camera ur using, webcam?
Title: Re: SammyA's
Post by: Sammy on September 30, 2014, 10:16:16 AM
Cheers Cam. It's a cheap Logitech webcam with the IR lens removed and a filter (small piece of a floppy disk) on the inside.

(http://pad2.whstatic.com/images/thumb/7/72/Make-a-Webcam-Into-an-Infrared-Camera-Step-5-Version-2.jpg/670px-Make-a-Webcam-Into-an-Infrared-Camera-Step-5-Version-2.jpg)

The red squad is the IR lens that was removed

(http://pad3.whstatic.com/images/thumb/e/e3/Make-a-Webcam-Into-an-Infrared-Camera-Step-6-Version-2.jpg/670px-Make-a-Webcam-Into-an-Infrared-Camera-Step-6-Version-2.jpg)

This guy used black photographic negative for the filter instead of a floppy disk
Title: Re: SammyA's
Post by: SCORP on September 30, 2014, 07:46:13 PM
nice I should finish mine off..
Title: Re: SammyA's
Post by: Sammy on July 17, 2017, 09:56:07 AM
It's been a while since I've done one of these. I bit the bullet and purchased a Oculas Rift virtual reality headset – here’s a short clip of me trying it out (Watch in 108060fps):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-QSxNYQykKc

I also tested this in Elite Dangerous - and word on the street Star Citizen is supposed to be working on VR on their release (+1 for Flat)